top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Iris Review

Profound Simplicity in “The Orange” by Wendy Cope

Is poetry just fancy rhyme schemes and convoluted metaphors about flowers? Over the years, I have realized that many people have this impression of poetry. I’ve heard often that it is too convoluted, confusing, or pretentious. For me, I could never bring myself to cram the entire idea of poetry into this one box marked ridiculous. While it is easy for poetry to be cliche or basic (just ask my middle school self), there are far too many original, well-crafted poems out there to write it all off as flowery words with no purpose. I love poetry, because, when it is done well, every word is intentional, resulting in a final piece that packs a punch and has something significant to say about the world we live in.  

However, I do agree that poetry can often feel unapproachable. Many seem to have an opinion that poetry has to be difficult to be great. Today, I am going to discuss “The Orange” by Wendy Cope; a poem that, while it features simplistic language and even a simplistic scene, captures great emotional depth.  

 

The Orange 

At lunchtime I bought a huge orange— 

The size of it made us all laugh. 

I peeled it and shared it with Robert and Dave— 

They got quarters and I had a half. 

And that orange, it made me so happy, 

As ordinary things often do 

Just lately. The shopping. A walk in the park. 

This is peace and contentment. It’s new. 

The rest of the day was quite easy. 

I did all the jobs on my list 

And enjoyed them and had some time over. 

I love you. I’m glad I exist. 

One of the first things that stands out to me when reading this poem is the childlike nature of it; I often find myself picturing it taking place amongst children in an elementary school cafeteria. I think this was the intended purpose, because it puts readers into a place we are likely familiar with. Not only are we familiar with it, but it brings us back to our own specific memories of being a kid in a cafeteria, sharing lunches with friends. There is an innocence in that. That simplistic, childlike nature continues in the second stanza when Cope writes, “that orange, it made me so happy,” (line 5). This is a matter-of-fact statement with no convoluted imagery. It states simply that the author is happy because of this orange and the fact that she could share it with friends. She goes on to describe how seemingly ordinary circumstances bring “peace and contentment” (line 8), and that peace is special because “it’s new” (line 8). Highlighting the newness of the comfort brought on by these ordinary, daily tasks makes them feel more special and appreciated. Things like grocery shopping or taking a walk are so mundane, we often don’t take a moment to appreciate the simplicity in these activities. There is something special about being able to find joy in the simple things, and it brings a happiness and contentment to our lives that we often spend decades seeking. The speaker here has found that happiness, which readers can see in the final line when she states, “I’m glad I exist,” (line 12). Much like the aforementioned line about the orange making the speaker happy, this line has a straightforward nature. It is a simple statement, but how many can say they have thought this about themselves? 

This is why I love this poem: it is simple, straightforward, and digestible - but still incredibly meaningful. I find myself coming back to this poem on sunny days, when I feel that profound sense of joy over the simple act of being alive. I am glad I exist, and I think anyone, even those resistant to poetry, could find something meaningful in Cope’s poem, “The Orange”. 

-Alyssa Owen

Recent Posts

See All

Bookish Events in Cookeville, Tennessee

With its gorgeous natural scenery as well as the emphasis on a unique shopping and eating experience, one might forget about the bookish scene in Cookeville, Tennessee. Dear reader this is an outright

bottom of page