top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Iris Review

Transferring Mediums

I think sometimes it can be assumed that to work on a publication such as the Iris Review you need to have already had so much said experience in the stuff of literature, like being well read, knowing how to edit, being some phenomenal writer or scholar, but that isn’t really where it started for me. I spent a lot of my time early into college focused on journalism, in fact, that was my original major. I had spent most of my high school days doing videography, photography, and editing things for work. My first job was working as a videography and photography intern, then I worked as an intern for a local television station, made a documentary for a local museum, became the president of my media club, placed at the state level and went to a national videography competition, and the list goes on and on. At first, this may sound like I am trying to humble brag, but the reality is that I haven’t really used any of these skills in the last 4 years, like, at all.


Sure, I might get to have fun filming friends from time to time or taking pictures, but why does this matter? We are talking about a journal publication here.


I’m saying that you don’t necessarily have to be some phenomenal writer or insightful editor, (although it does help, and there are some very talented people on our team) but there might be something that you are good at that can contribute to the things you enjoy. When I first changed my major to English, I figured that would be the end of my media days, but the design program has felt like a flash to the past for me. I’m working with Adobe software again, I’m getting to be creative in a way I haven’t experienced in some time, and I’m applying myself with real fun as well! It’s just been really interesting to see an old bag of tricks get pulled out again. I’m not saying I am a pro in any regard, but it has been fun to play around and learn new software with an also new creative passion of mine.


I write this all to say, if you are interested in publication (or really any hobby) feel free to check it out! There is always somewhere you can be involved and apply yourself if you’re willing to put your mind to it. You might just be better at it than you thought.


Thanks for reading!

Bryce Fox

Recent Posts

See All

Bookish Events in Cookeville, Tennessee

With its gorgeous natural scenery as well as the emphasis on a unique shopping and eating experience, one might forget about the bookish scene in Cookeville, Tennessee. Dear reader this is an outright

Profound Simplicity in “The Orange” by Wendy Cope

Is poetry just fancy rhyme schemes and convoluted metaphors about flowers? Over the years, I have realized that many people have this impression of poetry. I’ve heard often that it is too convoluted,

bottom of page